Australian Literature – Week 6

In light of the up-coming postal vote to decide the future of the LGBTQ communities marital rights I would like to take the time to express my own opinion on the matter. In my opinion I strongly believe that no one, regardless of gender, ethnicity or preference of partner should be treated any less than the person standing next to them, and it saddens me to see that in today’s society such prejudice is shown towards our fellow humans. I believe that as humans, we should all have the right to choose whom we spend the rest of our lives with and not be condemned or judged according. On the other hand, given my strong catholic background, I believe that marriage within the church should be between a man and a woman, not because I do not respect the LGBTQ community’s want for equality or wish for their own happiness, but because marriage by name is a religious sacrament and for me I believe it should stay that way. However, given what I have stated, I will be voting YES in the upcoming postal vote.

4 thoughts on “Australian Literature – Week 6

  1. Hey Michael!
    Your blog topic this week was a really interesting and clever choice. I do agree with what you’re saying in your blog, you’re definitely right in saying that no one should be treated as any less of a human as the person next to them! I’d love to read more blog posts like this, it’s very daring and up to date with the current events. Good choice!

    – Tylah

    Like

  2. Pingback: Peer review #4 – Tylah's literature blog

  3. Hi Michael, first of all I appreciate you taking on this topic as a talking point for your blog as it is controversial yet must be spoken about a lot more than it is- enjoyed the read. I agree with your sentiments in which every human should be treated equally, however at the same time specific religions and cultures have their own beliefs which they don’t want to change- or beyond their control to change.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Peer review 4 – Nicholas' blog

Leave a comment