Australian Literature – Week 7

This week I would like to choose my own topic to discuss in regard to one question I found myself asking while reading this week’s texts, and that is; ‘What does it mean to be Australian?’

This week we have analysed and immersed ourselves with a number of texts which outline some of the most iconic Australian scenes, such as the infamous Australian outback and those who tackle it each and everyday in order to survive. But is that what makes us Australian? As a nation, are we defined by stereotypes that we all live in the outback and ride kangaroos to work or school each day? To me, Australia is much more than that; Australia is a land of opportunity, a land where people can come and make a home for their families and share in our Great Australian Dream. Touching upon my own heritage, my grandmother migrated from Lebanon in order to build a better life for her family where her children would be given equal opportunity and a plethora of avenues which they could take. For me, Australia is much more than ‘the sun-burnt country’, it is my home and, in my opinion, one of the greatest nations on Earth.

2 thoughts on “Australian Literature – Week 7

  1. Hi Michael,

    Firstly, congratulations on being so bold as to create your own topic. Your views on what makes Australia the country it is are interesting and offer important perspective, being a person who has shared heritage. I would like to have seen you expand a bit more on some of your thoughts, particularly with relation to the cross-cultural element you have touched upon – for example, do your family still celebrate Lebanese traditions and if so, do these conflict with the stereotypical representations of Australia you touched upon? Overall this post provides a great insight into the impact the literature studied in this unit has had upon you and how thought provoking it can be. Well done.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Peer Review 6 – taramichelle

Leave a comment